TACLOBAN CITY – In line with the strategic goal of expanding the number of farmers and other agricultural stakeholders for insurance coverage, the PCIC signed a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) on December 3, 2014 with three (3) farmer cooperatives in Region VIII namely: Abuyog St. Francis Xavier Credit Cooperative (AFFCCO), Basak-Layog Agricultural Multi-Purpose Cooperative and Fatima Multi-Purpose Cooperative.

PCIC President Jovy C. Bernabe spearheaded the signing of the agreement together with AFFCCO Asst. Manager Carmela Casa and Members Benefit Officer Marilou Napoles, Basak Layog MPC Chairman Marydoree Caballero and Manager Jose Marie Remandaban and FATIMA MPC CEO Margarito Costelo, Jr. and General Manager Maria Teresa Geniston. The ceremony was witnessed by PCIC Chairman Dioscoro A. Granada, Dir. Epifanio A. Maniebo, Senior Vice President Norman R. Cajucom, and PCIC Region VIII Manager Dominico S. Digamon and staff.

In the same event, PCIC awarded indemnity checks worth P430,412.45 to the first fisheries insurance policy owner in Region VIII, Mr. Manuel A. Chua, and P287,234.00 to thirteen (13) rice farmers of Leyte.